Author Topic: what is "square" when we talk about music  (Read 5067 times)

Michel.R.E

• Administrator
  • B.FA (composition) M.Mus (composition)
    • Les Éditions du Dos Blanc
what is "square" when we talk about music
« on: August 07, 2013, 07:49:59 AM »
Often, beginners will be given a critique that includes a comment that their music is "too square". So what exactly does this mean?

I will try to roughly and simply explain this.

Most music is made up of phrases, much like speech.  Some phrases are longer, some are shorter.

The success of a piece of music is how phrases are placed, how they relate to each other, and most importantly for this discussion, how they are attached to each other.

I will give you a literary example of square phrases in writing:
I am Michel. I am a composer. I write music. My music is polyharmonic. Polyharmony is the juxtaposition of triads and other structures. I like the sound of polyharmony.

Now, there is nothing "wrong" with the above. It is grammatically correct if one examines each phrase individually. But as a paragraph it is... sorely lacking.

let's try this now:
My name is Michel, and I'm a composer of contemporary classical music. Most of my music utilizes the principles of polyharmony, which is the juxtaposition of triads and like-structures to create building blocks. As a composer, as a creative artist, the sound of polyharmony is what appeals to me most.

Phrases are connected, there is reference toward the end of the passage to an element that was presented at the very beginning. it "flows".

In music, the best way to create "square" phrasing is to bring each and every phrase to a conclusion. That sense that the end of a phrase is "the end" is what creates this sense of squareness.

How do we avoid this? Don't make all of your phrases be completely self-contained and complete! It's actually quite simple.

1. let the end of a phrase suggest the beginning of the next.