Author Topic: Hello from Jon  (Read 1167 times)

artofcomposing

Hello from Jon
« on: December 26, 2011, 04:39:06 AM »
Hey everybody.

My name is Jon. I have been composing for about 15 years, and a run a website about learning to compose music. I look forward to being a part of this forum.

Jon

Ron

• Administrator
    • The Music of Ronald J Brown
Re: Hello from Jon
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2011, 09:43:11 AM »
Hello Jon and welcome.

I took a quick look at your site and am left wondering: why do you not mention any of the great composers of the 20ieth century and their techniques? Surely that would make a better starting point for a contemporary than music of 200 years ago. Beethoven studied the music of his time and wouldn't dream of writing something in a style 200 years old so, why should anyone today do less?  ;)

Have you taken a look at the basic lessons that Alan Belkin has been offering for years? https://www.webdepot.umontreal.ca/Usagers/belkina/MonDepotPublic/bk/index.html

In any case, breaking music composition into separate subjects is a very difficult task and I wish you luck with it.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2011, 09:47:47 AM by Ron »
Ron
Rules? What rules?

Michel.R.E

• Administrator
  • B.FA (composition) M.Mus (composition)
    • Les Éditions du Dos Blanc
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2011, 10:07:43 AM »
I'm not exactly sure how someone with no real formal training in composition can put together a website that purports to teach others how to compose.
"Writing music to be revolutionary is like cooking to be famous: Music’s main function is not revolution. – Alan Belkin "

"Saying something new about something old is still saying something new. – Jamie Kowalski"

Michel.R.E

• Administrator
  • B.FA (composition) M.Mus (composition)
    • Les Éditions du Dos Blanc
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2011, 10:47:22 AM »
I notice some things lacking in your articles, for example in the one on "learning to compose".