Author Topic: Piano Sonata in A Major  (Read 203 times)

hk106

Piano Sonata in A Major
« on: August 18, 2020, 11:17:20 AM »
Hello!

Hoping for some feedback and constructive criticism from the kind and talented folks at this forum, as I've completed my newest creation, my sixth piano sonata.

A few things to know about me that will give you an idea of what to expect from this music:
- I'm an amateur and hobbyist with no formal training.  I've been at it for about five years or so.
- I've attached the sheet music, but do keep in mind that this music was composed for Finale's playback feature (I have zero expectations that a pianist will take an interest in trying to play my music), so there will be many notation errors and formatting issues.  Unless they affect the playback, than I'm not too concerned at this point.
- I tend to write in a musical language inherited from 19th century classical music.  I do admire and respect more modern approaches, but I'm presently content to continue working within the same sort of idiom that many of my favorite composers used.

The sonata is in four movements:
- The first movement is in sonata form. https://soundcloud.com/user-871866847/piano-sonata-no-6-in-a-major-movement-1
- The second movement might be described as ABACDCABA form.  https://soundcloud.com/user-871866847/piano-sonata-no-6-in-a-major-2nd-movement
- The third movement is an intermezzo in ternary form.  https://soundcloud.com/user-871866847/piano-sonata-no-6-in-a-major-movement-3
- The fourth movement is in rondo form.  https://soundcloud.com/user-871866847/piano-sonata-no-6-in-a-major-movement-4

Thank you!

mjf1947

• Administrator
Re: Piano Sonata in A Major
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2020, 01:46:24 PM »
Hi,

I just listened to the first movement.  Yes ... it's definitely in the classical tradition.

You develop your theme quite well and I enjoyed all the permutations. 

I am not pianist so I cannot comment on the technical aspects.