Author Topic: Hello from Atlanta  (Read 855 times)

JWitt

• Loree AK oboe, Kreul Miraphone cor anglais
Hello from Atlanta
« on: April 25, 2017, 09:29:58 AM »
I'm a retired mechanical engineer and an adult beginner.  I started playing violin about 2001, taught by my wife and then several teachers. A cervical injury caused partial paralysis of my bow arm which put an end to the fiddle for several years.  I then, for some unknown reason, became interested in oboe and English horn and was fortunate to find an excellent teacher only three miles from my home in Seattle. I was 71 years old when I began the oboe/English horn concurrently.

I became interested in music theory, but am self taught with various how to-do-it books and questions to my teachers. I've most recently played in a community symphony (Atlanta Musician's Orchestra), and my stand partner has been a lot of help. As you might imagine, I'm strictly an amateur.

I'm composing on Musescore 2.0 on an old PC which I used for engineering design work.  I've written several small pieces and have a recent couple of them to be "finished".  They are a linked pair of duets, one for two oboes and one for oboe and English horn.

Great to be aboard,

John
Houston, Tranquility Base here.  The Eagle has landed.

Michel.R.E

• Administrator
  • B.FA (composition) M.Mus (composition)
    • Les Éditions du Dos Blanc
Re: Hello from Atlanta
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2017, 10:37:42 AM »
Welcome to the forum John.
"Writing music to be revolutionary is like cooking to be famous: Music’s main function is not revolution. – Alan Belkin "

"Saying something new about something old is still saying something new. – Jamie Kowalski"

RJB54

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2017, 10:37:59 AM »
Welcome aboard. I look forward to hearing your work. You will find this to be a fine place to post your music and get helpful comments.