Author Topic: January, 2017: What are your music plans for the coming year?  (Read 2264 times)

Ron

• Administrator
    • The Music of Ronald J Brown
January, 2017: What are your music plans for the coming year?
« on: January 01, 2017, 04:47:28 AM »
Me? I want to finish more pieces. Every year I write dozens of things from 8 measures to 60 or more that I abandon.
Ron
Rules? What rules?

mjf1947

• Administrator
Re: January, 2017: What are your music plans for the coming year?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2017, 06:13:55 AM »
For myself ... the goals are performance related.

I was invited and I have started another orchestra as the  principal Oboist.

Also, I am studying with a new teacher in Manhattan .... and she has pointed out some really good strategies/techniques/approaches which I am attempting to master.

I'm not sure where my composing will lead me ... because I know I must do some serious studying here.   

Mark

gogreen

• Art on Facebook
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2017, 07:46:12 AM »
I'm a composer and a writer. When I focus on composing, my writing takes a back seat. When I focus on writing, I compose less. I'm currently focusing on a book project I've undertaken, so I will likely composer less in 2017. Maybe, maybe not. I can never predict this ebb and flow.

winknotes

« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2017, 11:14:57 AM »
I'd like to be more consistent with regard to working on my composing.  I typically have intense periods of inspiration followed by extended periods of nothing.  I'd like to at least keep some daily practice of writing something during those extended dry spells. 
Steve Winkler
Finale 2011
Windows 7 64-bit
Garritan GPO4, JABB
VSL SE/SE+ Standard
Reaper (sometimes)

MikeL

« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2017, 12:53:34 PM »
A group performed my "valse triste" last year and I have promised the other three pieces of the suite for their April concert. Better pull my finger out. :-\