Author Topic: Hello  (Read 1877 times)

ben

Hello
« on: September 14, 2016, 07:20:39 AM »
I'm a college student who is definitely an "amateur" arranger/composer. I have played trombone/baritone in ensembles over the past 10 years through school including concert band, marching band, jazz band, symphonic orchestra, and pit orchestra, and at college, so far I have participated in marching band and wind ensemble. I took a music theory class in high school that exposed me to many of the basics (probably corresponded to Theory I/II at the college level if that gives any context). On the compositional/arrangement side, I have written little motives for marching band stand music, and more to the point, I have arranged several pieces for various youth ensembles at church -- this is why some of the pieces have strange instrumentations ... they're arranged for the occasion based on who would show up. I appreciate any feedback. Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 28, 2016, 07:59:33 AM by ben »

Michel.R.E

• Administrator
  • B.FA (composition) M.Mus (composition)
    • Les Éditions du Dos Blanc
Re: Hello
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2016, 07:24:50 AM »
Welcome to the forum.
"Writing music to be revolutionary is like cooking to be famous: Music’s main function is not revolution. – Alan Belkin "

"Saying something new about something old is still saying something new. – Jamie Kowalski"

Ron

• Administrator
  • Finale Beta Tester
    • The Music of Ronald J Brown
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2016, 07:28:52 AM »
Welcome--and don't be too shy to ask questions.
Ron
Administrator Compose Forums

Rules are for people who have no understanding of music, so they invent something to mask their ignorance.

tbmartin

• TerenceMartinSaxArranger
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2016, 08:01:58 AM »
Welcome, Ben!