Author Topic: anne  (Read 1374 times)

anne

anne
« on: July 20, 2011, 07:28:50 PM »
Well hello!  ;)

Let's see.... I had piano lessons as a child, quit when I was in high school since I had.. ahem.. way more important things to do   ???   I majored in engineering.. fast forward (cough cough) years and some women in my book group were getting together to play Celtic music so I joined in. We had a violinist, a concertina player and me on piano. Unusual, I know  :)  Since most traditional Celtic music is written for the violin and therefore, treble, I was bored stiff so I thought, well I'll take a few lessons in composing and arranging, how hard can it be??

You all are laughing hysterically now, I know. I'll wait.  LOL

The violinist moved away so we just entertained ourselves and invited other instruments to join in. I can tell you that the harp is a lovely, beautiful instrument. The bagpipes are much too loud in the family room and they scare the cat. :o 

And I fell in love with composing.

My piano teacher at that time said that I was pretty good; however we had a falling out and I moved so... here I am. I did have a couple pieces evaluated by a publisher and they had some great critiques. My pieces tend to be very very short (I was aiming for piano pieces for beginners for a while - so short and trying for simple).

I know I have much to learn.

Michel.R.E

• Administrator
  • B.FA (composition) M.Mus (composition)
    • Les Éditions du Dos Blanc
Re: anne
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2011, 04:54:10 AM »
Well, welcome to the forum, Anne!

I don't know if we can help you with writing for bagpipes... we can try  ;D

But there are a few quite knowledgeable people here, so feel free to pick our brains.
"Writing music to be revolutionary is like cooking to be famous: Music’s main function is not revolution. – Alan Belkin "

"Saying something new about something old is still saying something new. – Jamie Kowalski"

Ron

• Administrator
    • The Music of Ronald J Brown